PDA

View Full Version : AFE Spring 2010

AndresGaviria
October 15th 2009, 01:51 AM
Hi everyone, at this moment I'm studying for the MLC sitting in Nov 2009. I already passed exams P, FM, MFE and hopefully will pass the MLC.

I was planning on taking exam C in spring 2010, however due to certain knowledge requirements of my new job, I think AFE would certainly be more useful in the short term (A LOT more useful).

I read somewhere ( I just can't find it know) that you need to pass at least 3 preliminary exams (MFE/MLC count as 1) to be able to register for the FSA exams, can anyone confirm this?

On the other hand, do I have a real disadvantage if I take AFE before C, and/or FAP and the rest of the FSA modules? Would it be harder for me to pass it? I know it's a very long syllabus and I'm prepared to start studying as soon as the SOA enables the registration and study notes ordering, so I would have 5 or possibly 6 months to study. How many hours would it take to cover the material and fully prepare for the exam? I know it depends on a lot of things, but an estimate would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you, and good luck to everyone for the Fall sitting!

PAK
October 15th 2009, 06:45 PM
No. There is no requirement to take the AFE exam.

No, I don't think you have any disadvantage.

In general, most people spend 350-400 hours to study for this exam. If you want to be conservative, you may want to put 450 hours.

Should you have any questions, please feel free to contact me =)

AndresGaviria
October 15th 2009, 08:28 PM
Hi Eddy, thank you for your response. Do you think the syllabus will suffer any changes for the Spring 2010 sitting? Any changes in the required textbooks or readings? Are you planing on changing your study manual/Notes/Aids etc? If so, do you have an estimate date for the release of the new material?