PDA

View Full Version : Please Critique My Resume

drhugrobot
May 1st 2010, 04:04 PM
Hi,

I graduated with a poor GPA. I haven't had an internship. However, I'm trying ever so hard to bury those mistakes and improve my resume.

I have attached my resume. Could you please give me any suggestions on how to improve it? I think that I, and others, would benefit from and appreciate any suggestions ranging from correction of grammatical errors, to more selective word choice, to suggesting new life experiences (i.e. volunteer more, get an internship, etc).

Thanks for all your help!

alekhine4149
May 1st 2010, 11:03 PM
Hi drhugrobot,

I am not qualified to critique an actuarial resume (not a manager), but I will give some opinions and my reasoning behind them so you can judge for yourself. Hopefully you get some others.

Personally, I find the layout and font pleasant. I'm not sure if others will feel this way, but I think it's nice.

I don't like the objective. I almost think you should just omit it. But if you do keep it, it shouldn't have words like creative, solutions, and rapidly growing company. Many of the best companies you could work for are not rapidly growing, so they may assume they aren't a good fit for you. Most jobs you apply for won't require much creativity (although it is important to be able to initiate a project that hasn't been done before), and again they may assume they aren't what you're looking for. Solutions is an absolute no. It was a big buzzword around 2003 or so, and it's out of rotation.

Education and exams are pretty good and clear in my opinion.

I don't know what honest retrospect means. Paraphrasing and execution also sound bizarre. You were serving sandwiches. It's a great job because Potbelly's tastes very good, and you were helping to feed thousands of hungry white yuppies. I wouldn't try to make it sound too fancy because it is a chance to show the interviewer that you worked hard at a fast pace in service to others.