Actuary.com Actuarial Science Forum - Discuss Actuarial Exams and Tests, Study Materials, Books, Guides, Manuals, Jobs, Courses, Seminars, Schools, Insurance Jobs >
Actuarial Discussion Forums - General Discussions >
Actuarial - Employment, Jobs, Careers, Interviewing, Articles > Has anyone heard of the company Actuary Resources?
View Full Version : Has anyone heard of the company Actuary Resources?
tempaccount
July 28th 2010, 07:12 AM
http://actuaryresources.org/
I interviewed with this company earlier this week for a "job", but after the interview I'm almost convinced that it's just a scam. I wanted to check with people on this forum to see if this type of thing is actually common and I'm just naive.
Here's their posting on indeed: http://www.careerbuilder.com/JobSeeker/Jobs/JobDetails.aspx?ipath=EXIND&siteid=cbindeed&Job_DID=J7X1N36F4G35GGK8LQ6&cbRecursionCnt=1&cbsid=d6329b68ff45435a8c64ba89a478fa58-333616052-XE-6
It sounded great! I'm studying for exam P/1 right now, but this job seems not to require any exams, and it would be great to start getting experience before I even take the exam and get a bit of a head start on my career. When I went to the interview, though, he told me that I actually had to pass the exam first before I could be hired. Well, that seems ok. But then he told me that he is just a recruiter, and the position is with some other company in Brentwood, TN, and he wanted me to to take a review class for the test which cost $380. This is where the red flags started popping up. I tried to feel him out during the interview, and if I ever sounded a bit iffy about the review course he backed off for a minute and then came back on full force. He spoke more like a salesman than an interviewer.
So when I got home, I looked up casualty actuaries in Brentwood and started calling them. I called 4 different companies and not a single one has ever heard of Actuary Resources or their CEO Hal/Howard/James Butler. That was enough for me to conclude that it's almost definitely a scam. Nevertheless, I did want to post about it here to see if anyone has ever heard of this company before, just to get an opinion from someone who knows more about the actuarial career field than I do.
pepper2000
August 1st 2010, 12:24 AM
I don't know anything about them either, but for what it's worth, the BBB approves.
http://www.bbb.org/nashville/business-reviews/employment-agencies/actuary-resources-in-lebanon-tn-24103419
hilsb1
August 2nd 2010, 12:15 PM
I interviewed with him last Thursday. Got a call from a number I didn't recognize today, so I searched the number on google, and a company called medical innovations showed up. When you search for Medical innovations Lebanon, these sites come up about Hal Butler.
http://www.ripoffreport.com/employment-services/hal-butler-actuarial/hal-butler-actuarial-and-medic-2d88f.htm
http://www.ripoffreport.com/Business-Consultants/Medical-And-Actuaria/medical-and-actuarial-innovati-43f6a.htm
They called me today to check if I was interested in taking the class. I am thinking, "NO!"
conguero2717
August 4th 2010, 03:27 PM
I'm speaking generally here. You already bear the burden of choosing your study materials, scheduling your exam(s), and learning independently. Even when you are employed and your employer subsidizes exams/materials, you will be responsible for these things. That's enough to keep you going for a while. The study guide of your choosing and the released exam questions are your best bet. Use them first, especially if you are just starting out.
By the looks of things, these postings have been up for a while, which means if you do pass on your own, come back and seek placement with this company. If their not interested, they were probably more concerned with promoting their class than placing candidates. If your priorities and your recruiter's priorities don't match up, move on.
lgpcsilva
July 18th 2011, 06:38 PM
I Interviewed with him as well and not only that ,I already paid for the review class and i also bought the book for the class. It is not a scam. I am pretty sure he told you that all your expenses will be reimbursed including the $380 tuition, books, exam fees and all that. I think all Mr. Butler wants is to have "his" candidates prepared. He will get paid "if" the candidates pass the exam and he can find them a job so i guess he just wants people to pass otherwise he wouldn't even worry about reimbursing anything. And also, they got a A+ rating on the BBB Rating system and that for me is enough to trust them. Good luck studying for your exam
bjmiller
July 29th 2011, 11:11 PM
I responded to a job posting through Actuary Resources and participated in their program, and all of the details for costs, refunds, and services were clearly presented to me. I passed the P1 exam, and Actuary Resources is now actively attempting to place me in a job, so the company is quite legitimate. In the meantime, the company has offered me contract work related to the test preparation. As such, I have seen some of the company's operations, which all seem to be run in good order.
Camell
August 2nd 2011, 12:26 PM
In May 2011 I responded to an interview request from Actuary Resources. During the interview, I was informed of their study program and how I would benefit from it. It involved me enrolling in an online P class that would help me prepare for the P exam. I also by choice, signed a contract stating that upon being successful with exam P that I would I would not only be reimbursed for the fees associated with taking and preparing for the exam but Actuary Resources would exercise its best efforts to assist me in finding a suitable employment position.
This was a great opportunity and one which I agreed upon. My preparation for the exam P commenced and I studied diligently. I was unsuccessful, however in the July sitting. I must say that online P class that I enrolled in through Actuarial Resources was of great benefit and here’s why. The Professor who taught the online P class had chat sessions every Thursday with the students enrolled in the class. I was able to ask questions and receive answers to many queries that I had. It was also in one of these chat sessions that the Professor informed us of P exam computer-based test which are available online. I bought this software and I was able to practice sample P exams in a testing environment right at home. In addition, the Professor who aided in preparation for this exam had himself taken the exam earlier on this year and had gotten a 9 or 10 score. He’d taken it just to be aware of what we are facing as students. So he had great tips and advice for us.
I did not have sufficient practice as time did not allow me to complete practice of all the exams. Actuary Resources equipped me with the skills, the motivation and support to be successful at passing exam P in the future. Exam P is not an easy exam, it requires lots of hard work and study and even then there’s no guarantee that one will pass on the first try. It is with this knowledge that Actuary Resources encourages prospective employees (students) to enroll in the online class. They are a legitimate company approved by the BBB with A+ rating. Currently, Mr. Butler is seeking a contractual position for me. This speaks volumes as he is trying his best to secure employment for me before my OPT expires. I am very thankful for this opportunity.
trsspidey
August 2nd 2011, 01:10 PM
Hmmm a lot of 1 time posters makes me sort of wary of this. Just an observation.
Irish Blues
August 2nd 2011, 06:31 PM
We now have three (3) users who've signed up and immediately posted in this thread, and done nothing else; the first two haven't been back since their post. Additionally, I now have a 4th user who's registered as being from Nashville and immediately came to this thread - but is clearly not from there; in fact, 2 of the other 3 purport to be from Nashville but their registration IP's are from elsewhere.
I sense an attempt to use sock puppets ...so I'm locking this thread.
Powered by vBulletin™ Version 4.1.3 Copyright © 2013 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.