PDA

View Full Version : Why be an actuary if you're going to spend 10 years of life studying for exams?

wmanko
November 30th 2010, 12:16 PM
Sure, you get a lot of study time per day in several companies, but for many consulting companies, that isn't the case. Regardless, you still have to spend a lot of time at home doing practice problems and studying material. That's more ways to be a social recluse. On top of the exams requiring hundreds of hours of studying, the pass rates are still pretty low. More and more people take these exams each sitting and they get harder over time for that reason. If you fail, you don't really know which questions you got wrong or which topics you were weaker at. You could have known the material well but simply failed enough questions due to silly arithmetic errors. Oh yeah, and I'm probably not that smart either. I never did too well thinking on my feet in college level exams, but still did well because I studied harder and kept grinding problems/proofs.

I guess I'm just a little frustrated with all of this and I'm venting here. I graduated from a good school this past June with a math degree and had no luck finding any real jobs...I took 1/P twice but barely passed it the second time around - I got a 6. Actuarial work is probably the only field I can get into at the moment because I've had no luck anywhere else...as a result, I spend a lot of my time studying for exam FM, but it really stinks being a social recluse. '''', I'm 22 and still need to get laid...I don't really know if I wanna be studying for exams for the next 8 years or so just so I can get a job that is easily outsourced while everyone else is enjoying and living their life and also raising a family....