Actuarial Openings: Life, P&C, Health, Pensions, Finance
Actuarial Careers, Inc. ®
Actuarial Jobs Worldwide
Search positions: Geographic Region, Specialization, Salary

Thread: Actuarial foundations

Actuary.com - Newbie Poster

Actuarial foundations

Hello all,

I am in my final year at university (in the UK) and I am expecting to graduate with first class honours in Physics. I have been interested in becoming an actuary since I was around 16, and a couple of years ago I decided to go for it. I have sent off a few applications for graduate programmes, and I am going to send off some more this week. I have two main questions to ask.

1. What kind of background knowledge would make me a really solid candidate? My problem solving, mathematics and communication skills are good. My business knowledge, however, is probably my weakest area. I have been reading around finance and business for the last year or two, but as a physicist I am not exposed to these things as much as I would be if I were doing, say, an economics degree or something like that. In my last interview (at KPMG), I was asked to explain, in as much detail as I could, how the actuarial department works with the other departments in KPMG in order to provide their service. I had no idea I would have to know something like that in any detail, and in my research of the company I didn't come across much to help me answer that question. Does anybody have any advice on how to prepare for these kinds of questions? I realise this is a little bit vague but I would appreciate any advice here.