PDA

View Full Version : Putting your exam score on a resume

falcon
January 15th 2009, 12:52 PM
I agree with posts I have seen that for most people it is better to leave a 9 or a 10 off their resume.
However, I am a math teacher with an Aerospace Engineering degree looking to change careers, and I'm getting the sense that applicants with a more relevant (math, actuary science, etc.) degree have a slight advantage over me.
If I received a 10 on Exam P, would this show that I'm just as capable of passing exams as a math/actuary science major? Just a thought. Thanks in advance for offering an opinion.

Gus Gus
January 20th 2009, 08:55 AM
I put my Exam P score on my resume.

There's a guy in the math department at my uni that was an actuary for ~25 years. Whenever I told him I made a 10 on the first actuarial exam, he told me congratulations, that's really special, you should be proud, etc. etc. I asked him if I should put the score on my resume or not and he threw back his head and had a right chuckle. He said, "Why wouldn't you? A company would rather hire somebody who made a 10 instead of a 6." Now of course he meant, all things other things being equal, why would a company prefer an inferior score?

I respect this guy's opinion. As mentioned, he was a FCAS for many years and he worked for a well known consulting company and was often involved in the interviewing process.

But as you may have seen on this forum, a lot of people think it's a bad idea. Clearly it just depends on the company. I put my exam score on my resume and I have been applying for jobs steadily for 6 months and I have a grand total of two phone interviews and zero on-site interviews. So I don't think it really matters too much. Companies seem to be more interested in number of exams passed and relevant experience. I don't expect to get a job until I pass a few more exams. In particular, my 10 on Exam P/1 appears to be worth sweet F.A.

ajsnyder85
January 23rd 2009, 07:41 AM