PDA

View Full Version : Where to Start?

TomT
February 3rd 2006, 09:26 AM
I graduated from college in 2004 with a degree in business management and a minor in economics (also had enough credits for a degree in HR, but school will not grant both HR and management degrees due to overlap in cirriculum). I wasn't really sure what I wanted to do with my degree and ended up with a job in the pension industry. I have been a pension administrator for a little over a year now, and I really like what I do. I am well on my way to being a QKA (ASPPA designation) after only 13 months in the field. I am very interested in becoming an actuary and continuing to work with pensions on a higher level. However, I do not feel that my math education was very strong in college, with my highest level being business statistics. I would like to be ready to take the P exam by the last testing session this year (Sept. I believe?). My financial math skills are pretty strong, but I feel that I am lacking in the probability and statistics area and am probably not as profficient with calculus as I should be. I would appreciate and advice on where I should begin in order to ready myself for an exam by September.

Thank you in advance.

Skowron
February 3rd 2006, 11:45 AM
I think you should start with some good study materials. There are a number of exam P resources out there. Look around on this board and find a few that people say are useful. You can also download the study notes from the SOA site. This will give you exam-specific material.

Then, get a hold of a used probability & stats book and calculus book to use as reference. You're not going to need all the material in them, but I found myself looking back to past material to understand some concepts for the exam.