PDA

View Full Version : Is it doable?

shoebkhan
December 7th 2009, 05:47 AM
Hi,
I'm interested in the CERA designation which requires you to pass P/FM/MFE & C.
My background is: BBA - basic calc & stats/MSc Finance - a little more than basic stats - mult regr etc./CFA L1 & prepping for L2 now.
I havent done serious calculus since I was in high school in India, which was 4-5 years back...so you can say my calc is a little more than rusty. My differentiation is OK, but integration is basic - but I do understand the concepts though.
My question is whether these exams are doable for someone in my situation. I mean I do understand that I'd have to do a math review course before I can even touch study materials for P. What kind of competency do these review materials assume and basically can I pass these exams, or should I have been a math/econ major in UG/PG?
Thanks for any info/help!

jaysunice
December 7th 2009, 12:11 PM
It's definitely possible. It all comes down to the level of effort/time you are willing to invest in the process. In fact, given your background, I would assume that exam 2/FM shouldn't be all too bad and is probably a good starting point.

You probably do not need to invest in a math review course until you can pinpoint your weaknesses -- even then, you'd be better off seeing a tutor and/or figuring it out by asking questions on forums or using search engines to find answers to topics, etc...

MY ADIVCE: start with exam 2/FM --order the ASM manaual and see how it goes. However, you may also want to start with 1/P as that is more reflective of the amount of time and generally more difficult conceptual concepts than 2/FM. This way you can realize how much effort the other exams may take you -- but please error on the side of MLC and C taking MORE time to study/prepare than 2/FM and 1/P.

pfredericks36
December 7th 2009, 07:20 PM
Hi,
I'm interested in the CERA designation which requires you to pass P/FM/MFE & C.