PDA

View Full Version : For those of you wanting to be an actuary ...

Irish Blues
March 22nd 2006, 02:59 PM
Frequently someone says, “I’m in (insert field name here) and I want to be an actuary. I got a degree in (insert degree program here) and I want to know if it’s possible to get into the actuarial field. How do I get started?” So I wrote this to try and address some of the commonly-asked questions I see here. As the list of commonly asked questions grows, I'll add to this list.

1. "I’m currently working in computer science, accounting, biology, ceiling tile counting, …."
It doesn’t matter what field you’re in now. You must understand what an actuary does before you ever think about the switch and be committed to staying in the field once you get in. (Roughly 70% of those who start down the actuarial career path drop out before earning the FSA or FCAS designation - employers want you to be one of those 30% who make it!) The best place to get most questions answered (besides here!) is www.beanactuary.com – it’s a great site with information targeted at people like you aren’t in the actuarial profession but are thinking about it.

2. "How do I get started?"
Assuming you don’t have previous experience as an actuary, pass an exam. Even better, pass two exams. Your chances of getting started are greatly enhanced if you’ve taken and passed an exam – it shows you’re not just giving lip service about being an actuary, you’re actually taking steps toward getting into the field. To learn more about the exams, go to www.beanactuary.com and click on "Actuarial Exams".

In addition, apply early and apply often. Every job you don't apply for is one you're guaranteed not to get. Insurance companies and consulting firms are almost always looking for new actuaries - go to their web site and submit your application. Use a recruiter. Talk to someone you know who's already in the field. The more things you do to land a job, the better your chances are of getting one.