PDA

View Full Version : How much does it matter

JonDG
March 27th 2006, 12:53 AM
Hello,
Your discussion forum has been really helpful to me and answered all of my questions except for one and I'm hoping that someone can help with that. My question is how much does actually going into an actuary science program help compared to math at a school that doesn't offer an actuary science major. It must be helpful to major in actuary science or schools wouldn't offer that major, right? How much easier would it be to pass the exams? I know most of you say that it doesn't matter what you go to school for, but I am oping for a little more direction than that. Ideally I would like to hear from people who have majored in actuary science and to what degree it helped them, and also people that have majored in other areas and how much of what they have learned has been self-taught. Any responses would be helpful and I would like to thank you ahead of time.
Jon

wat
March 27th 2006, 01:06 AM
Hello,
Your discussion forum has been really helpful to me and answered all of my questions except for one and I'm hoping that someone can help with that. My question is how much does actually going into an actuary science program help compared to math at a school that doesn't offer an actuary science major. It must be helpful to major in actuary science or schools wouldn't offer that major, right? How much easier would it be to pass the exams? I know most of you say that it doesn't matter what you go to school for, but I am oping for a little more direction than that. Ideally I would like to hear from people who have majored in actuary science and to what degree it helped them, and also people that have majored in other areas and how much of what they have learned has been self-taught. Any responses would be helpful and I would like to thank you ahead of time.
Jon

I can only offer what I know, but it may be hard to compare the two.