PDA

View Full Version : Can you guys come in and tell me more about Actuarial Science

AvonT
April 24th 2005, 06:30 PM
Hi there, I am a high school student and I am going to study community college in the U.S after this summer. I am interested in Math and solving problems. But I want to ask you guys some questions about Actuarial Science.

1. What should I study in Community College?
2. What should I Study when I transfer to 4 year University?
3. Which school is better for studying about Actuarial Science?
4. When should I start writing the Exam 1 and 2?

Hope you guys can help me

Thanks

AvonT

PhillyP
April 26th 2005, 06:28 PM
I would take as many econ, finance, and math courses as you can. You should definately plan on taking 2-3 semesters of calculus and atleast one class that is calculus-based probability. There are are also what is called VEE requirements and you should pick classes that will satisfy it. You can find all the info you need at this link

http://www.soa.org/ccm/content/exams-education-jobs/education-redesign/process-for-validation-by-educational-experience

That's about all i can help you with, good luck.

AvonT
April 26th 2005, 08:21 PM
I would take as many econ, finance, and math courses as you can. You should definately plan on taking 2-3 semesters of calculus and atleast one class that is calculus-based probability. There are are also what is called VEE requirements and you should pick classes that will satisfy it. You can find all the info you need at this link

http://www.soa.org/ccm/content/exams-education-jobs/education-redesign/process-for-validation-by-educational-experience

That's about all i can help you with, good luck.

Thank you so much.

How many exam did you pass?

krzysio
April 27th 2005, 01:26 AM
You should review the site www.BeAnActuary.org very thoroughly.