PDA

View Full Version : What is the chance for a foreigner to get an actuary job in U.S.?

magicalfox
May 22nd 2006, 09:52 PM
HI fellow perspective Actuaries,

I have a complicated question to ask here: I am a foreigner studying in
U.S. My background is physics, and right now in a good university getting
my Ph.D. But I'm not exactly interested in doing research and becoming a professor.
Actually I am seriously considering taking SOA or CAS exams and hopefully
evantually become an actuary. Given my "exotic background", what chance
do your guys figure I have in getting even a first job? -- I mean
after my graduation in two years hopefully with 3~4 exams passed?

Really puzzled about it right now. Any input of yours will be greatly appreciated!!

best,

Anna
May 22nd 2006, 11:25 PM
I'm an immigrant myself and I don't see why you would have a problem with getting a job here as long as all your documents are in order and you have the right to work... If you need a company to sponsor you work visa, it may be more complicated. If you have a green card you're golden, but I'm assuming that you don't.

magicalfox
May 23rd 2006, 09:52 AM
HI Anna, Thank you so much for your reply. My case is exactly like what you
suspected -- I will definitely need a work visa. Plus my background is really
nothing related to this field. I'm wondering if people would think what
is a physics Ph.D. doing in a actuarial job market? Plus, after a Ph.D., my salary
expectation will be probably slightly higher than a entry-level as a
underaduate could get. That could be another problem. --- Can I get more
advice from you? Thank you so much.

I'm an immigrant myself and I don't see why you would have a problem with getting a job here as long as all your documents are in order and you have the right to work... If you need a company to sponsor you work visa, it may be more complicated. If you have a green card you're golden, but I'm assuming that you don't.

krzysio
May 23rd 2006, 11:20 AM