PDA

View Full Version : what about consulting firms?

math_geek
July 1st 2006, 02:52 AM
hi all!!!

i am working as an actuarial assistant in a life insurance company. my major task is group pricing - the marketing department provides us the info while we compute for premiums based on the data that they have given to us. i have been working here for nearly five months, and this is my first working experience as an actuary.

as months went by, sad to say, but, i'm not happy with my work. :( not that i'm not happy with computing and all that stuff, but what i'm SO dissatisfied about is the fact that we are ALWAYS in constant argument with the marketing. it is known here in our company that the actuarial & the marketing had always been in a head-to-head match against each other. :mad: i don't know if i'm only exaggerating, but i have experienced having MAJOR fights with them numerous times. it's like they've always been so concerned about closing a deal even though it would be a loss for the company. so, for the past few weeks, i'm SERIOUSLY considering resigning from my job.

i have gone over the various vacancies for actuarial assistant/analyst positions, and there are two of them that i'm eyeing on. both are in consulting firms, and one of them is, watson wyatt. the problem is, i don't have a clear picture of what would the nature of my job be; what kind of working environment i might be into; what kind of pressures i'll be facing & what specific kind of actuarial work would i be doing (would it be pricing, valuation, etc...).