PDA

View Full Version : Seeking the Path

RevGreg
July 11th 2006, 10:39 AM
Hi. :)

I'm currently studying Math (Statistics) at the University of Alabama. I'm interested in becoming an actuary, but I can't seem to find a concise and clear description of the path that must be followed to become an actuary.

I have a few questions that I hope you can help me with:

1. How many exams are there and what do they focus on? I can only find information on the first 2.
2. How many exams must be passed before an individual can be employed as an actuary.
3. Is there required coursework involved with taking the exams or can the exams be taken without any formal classwork?
4. Is there a waiting period between tests or can they all be taken at the same time?
5. If I plan to graduate with my statistics degree in May 2007, do I have time to take the necessary exams to be employed by the time I graduate?

I can't seem to find a website that makes these questions clear. Any help that you can provide would be beneficial. Thank you very much.

Greg Michaelson

Trojan_Horse
July 11th 2006, 12:02 PM
1. There are four preliminary exams and then a series of online modules that include two more exams that must be passed before attaining the first actuarial designation of Associate. To become a Fellow, there are more modules and a couple more exams and a project. Since you are just beginning, just focus on the first four preliminary exams first, the rest of the process may change a bit (as it often does).
2. You must become an Associate before you are really an actuary but you can get a job as an actuarial student with only one exam passed. Once you have a position like this, most companies will give you paid study time and will pay for your books and exam fees as you progress along the path.