PDA

View Full Version : Brand new

eholladakid@aol.com
July 26th 2006, 06:09 PM
Hello everybody! I am sorta new to the site for please forgive my first post. I am a college student in northern california that does not have ab actuary program. I plan on taking my first exam in spring 2007 and wanted to knowif anyone could give advice to any of my questions:

1) Did any of you guys have mentors on your quest on becoming an actuary, and do you guys recommend any certain company to get one from?

2) What courses should I take? Is partial differential equations required on any of the exams?

3) Is economics still on the second exam?

4)Are there any mentors available in northern california?

Thanks for your help everybody!!!:D :) :D

wat
July 26th 2006, 07:00 PM
Hello everybody! I am sorta new to the site for please forgive my first post. I am a college student in northern california that does not have ab actuary program. I plan on taking my first exam in spring 2007 and wanted to knowif anyone could give advice to any of my questions:

1) Did any of you guys have mentors on your quest on becoming an actuary, and do you guys recommend any certain company to get one from?

2) What courses should I take? Is partial differential equations required on any of the exams?

3) Is economics still on the second exam?

4)Are there any mentors available in northern california?

Thanks for your help everybody!!!:D :) :D

Welcome to the board.

For question 2 - no, partial differential equations isn't explicitly (or even implicitly) on any of the actuarial exams. It might be good to know in practice, but I haven't found the need for it yet.