PDA

View Full Version : Introduction and Question

DoneWithIT
August 3rd 2006, 09:07 PM
Hello to All,

First off I have to say that I am not an actuary, although I think I may want to become one. Which is why I have signed up here, to see what other people's experiences have been and to get a better idea of what may lie ahead for me. First, a brief introduction...

I obtained a Bachelor's degree in Mathematics and Philosophy and realizing that I'd actually need to find a job, figured that I'd have better prospects if I went into a computer-related field (this was around 1996-97). So after graduation I obtained certification in Java programming, got lucky and got a job working for a major tech firm. While I was hired as a programmer, this quickly morphed into a network IT gig, and I found myself configuring firewalls for a living. At first this was interesting and rewarding work, but as time has gone on, the climate has cooled (unlike the Earth), and my frustration levels have increased. I am well compensated for the work I do, but I am realizing that it's really important to enjoy the kind of work you do - or at least not find yourself despising it on a regular basis. I don't know how many more pages at 3am I can take, because some idiot can't get to the internet....anyway, hopefully you can see where I'm coming from.