PDA

View Full Version : My situation and probably your situation too (sorry about the length)

MJ421
January 12th 2007, 08:44 PM
I believe my situation is very realistic to you all people attempting to get into the field.To people that’s in this situation… please leave a comment and tell me what you’re doing and what you will do.

I’ve graduated from a good Canadian university at the end of August 2006. The first exam I did in 2005. Like everyone else here, I took a break and decided to study for the FM exam in November. After exam, I started studying for the third actuarial exam. As of now, I’m started looking for a job/career. Today is the release of the FM exam. To be honest, I was surprised I didn’t pass. However, my problem stated beneath is independent on the exam result...

Here’s the problem.
Over the break, I did a lot of thinking about my future. Studying for the first two exams is intersting. However, as I scanned though the third exam material. I was not really interested in studying life/death/survival models ( I cannot comment on how interesting it is to do it on computer as work…). My heart is not in it at all. I start to wonder if this profession is really for me. I think I was caught in the hype of actuarial profession here in my city. There are currently two reasons why I should no longer pursue in this field…

i) People around me said it doesn’t suit me or I should pursue another ambitious career.