PDA

View Full Version : How do you decide which field?

sykochikka
July 18th 2005, 01:37 PM
Hi I'm still a student and I was wondering how do you decide which field to go into? I was leaning towards pension but that's because my mentor is a pension actuary...I'm not sure which field is best for me how on earth do you decide? What is each field really about? Is there any place that I can read up about each field of actuarial work that can help me decide? Or since I'm still a student do I have to decide now? I was told that I should decide when I get my first job, but isn't that late?

Hope you can help me out..
Thanks!

Ken
July 18th 2005, 05:32 PM
You don't select your field, the field selects you.

Sorry, I just felt like saying that. Seriously though, I wish I knew the answer to this questions as well. I don't know what I want to do Life/Pensions/P&C wise but I can tell you that I want to go into Consulting as opposed to Insurance. I don't want to be feeding any stereotypes, but from the people I've met from companies coming to campus, I find the people in consulting more interesting in general. It could just be small sample bias so don't take my word as fact.

sykochikka
July 18th 2005, 05:58 PM
You don't select your field, the field selects you.

Sorry, I just felt like saying that. Seriously though, I wish I knew the answer to this questions as well. I don't know what I want to do Life/Pensions/P&C wise but I can tell you that I want to go into Consulting as opposed to Insurance. I don't want to be feeding any stereotypes, but from the people I've met from companies coming to campus, I find the people in consulting more interesting in general. It could just be small sample bias so don't take my word as fact.