PDA

View Full Version : job application essay...need your help on resources

gbarber
August 11th 2005, 12:59 PM
Does anyone know where I could find readily accessible information on the interaction of different positions within an insurance company (i.e. underwriters, policy writers, sales, actuaries, etc.)? I am applying for a job online and I have to write an explanation about this and I have no clue since I have no insurance experience yet. Thanks for your help ahead of time!

Ken
August 11th 2005, 03:01 PM
I know some med programs require essays, but since when do you have to write an essay when you apply for a job in the insurance industry?

mannyjoe
August 11th 2005, 03:04 PM
I think it's for Mutual of Omaha

number1
August 11th 2005, 04:56 PM
One reason they ask you to write an essay is to make sure you have command of the english language. Many people who may have above average statistic abilities may not be able to write very well. Your essay is also to perhaps show that you can present complex actuarial concepts to non-actuaries in a simple way. Keep that in mind in your essay writing. There is sometimes also a perceived wall between actuarial and other departments. They may want to make sure you do not subscribe to that way of thinking.

gbarber
August 11th 2005, 09:41 PM
I appreciate everyones input on my application, and I have no problem writing the essay, but can anyone tell me where to find the answer to the question?????

I need to know where I can go to read and learn what they are asking me to explain. I can put information together into written form rather well and I have experience explaining complexities in simple terms, but right now I need it explained to me! Is there something on teh web or a good book I could find at the library?