PDA

View Full Version : Career change from software

pherrero
August 24th 2005, 01:15 AM
I have a M.A. in mathematics, but I've been working as a software engineer for the last six years. I miss actually using mathematics (most of my programming projects are pretty mundane and math-free), and I had considered becoming an actuary from the beginning.

At the moment, I have passed SOA exams 1 and 2, for which I studied in my spare time. I would like to work as an actuary; there are at least two problems associated with this:

1. I live in San Diego (California, of course) and do not plan to relocate soon. According to an occupational survey I found, there are only about 100 actuaries in the county, and very few publicly listed openings anywhere. If anyone who reads these posts is an actuary working in San Diego, I would be interested in an informational interview (will buy lunch/dinner, your choice of restaurant), because I have not met any yet.

2. Changing careers would involve a salary cut of 40% to 50%, based on data I've seen. Of course, my salary will likely exceed my current compensation after I accrue the same level of experience in my new career that I have gained in my current one, but the sudden drop is not encouraging. I had hoped to find some sort of "intermediate" position, possibly using some of my current experience in addition to my limited actuarial knowledge. If anyone in this forum has made the transition from another high-paying profession (especially a programming-related one), I would be very interested in how it went and any advice you might have.

Ken
August 24th 2005, 11:48 AM
I'm going to let you in on a little secret. Most actuaries don't use that much math on the job. The ones using the most math are the ones in research. Most actuaries are spreadsheet monkeys.

aced
August 25th 2005, 08:04 PM
well, there's a lot of math in the exams.

hahah, so the code monkey wants to be an excel monkey?

pherrero
August 29th 2005, 03:35 PM