PDA

View Full Version : First Job/No Exams/'FM Candidate'

crayolaab
November 16th 2005, 02:45 PM
I'm moving from London to Seattle at the end of December (I'm an American, returning 'home'). Whilst in London I have been studying for Exams P and FM. I sat & failed (barely :( ) P in May, and sat Exam FM in November. I'm very borderline on this one - I am 'confident' about 15 problems, pretty sure of 2 more - so it will *really* depend on the passmark/any disqualified questions.

When we move back to Seattle I will be applying for my first actuarial-related job. I graduated from uni in May 04 with approx 3.0 GPA, physics major and pure math minor (ie, no stats/probability/anything useful). Since then I've been in London doing temp admin work.

I'll be looking for anything actuarial-related, preferably somewhere with a training program to help me through more exams.

However, I'm not sure if I should include 'Candidate for FM' or 'Sat Exam FM on 9/11/05' or something, if I'm not sure if I passed?

I'm also not sure about my resume - can anyone recommend any resources that might help??

I'm really worried about finding a job, I don't have any internships, my GPA is lousy, I don't have any exams... but this is my chosen field and I would like to try to get into it rather than continuing to work temp admin until I pass exams :(

Thanks for any advice!

PhillyP
November 16th 2005, 06:51 PM