Actuarial Openings: Life, P&C, Health, Pensions, Finance
Advertise Here
Contact us at actuary@actuary.com or 770-425-8576
Reach top actuarial professionals

Thread: Math and stats

Actuary.com - Newbie Poster

Math and stats

Hi everyone,

I'm new to the site, but have been interested in the actuarial field for some time now. I currently work in finance, on Wall Street, and don't really like the atmosphere (even before the economy tanked and all my friends got fired). I am only 24, so I'm fairly young. I don't have much formal math background above Calculus 2 and intro statistics, both of which I took in high school and only remember vaguely. I'm good at math and statistics intuitively, but I have little formal knowledge and don't even know many of the key terms, notation, etc.

My plan is to self-study for exam I, and in the process I'll get a pretty good idea whether I like the material enough to make the switch to a new career.

Here's my question: I've read the stickies, visited the beanactuary website, and looked over the sample exams. I can figure out some of the problems, but I'm sure that formally studying the material covered on each exam will help me to be able to tackle the more difficult questions. My problem is, I don't really know where to start. I followed the links on the site because it said there are online "Web Notes", and I got to this page:

http://www.soa.org/education/exam-re...-p-detail.aspx