Sponsored Ads
Pauline Reimer, ASA, MAAA
Pryor Associates
Actuarial Openings: Life, P&C, Health, Pensions, Finance
Ezra Penland Actuarial Recruiters
Top Actuary Jobs
Salary Surveys Apply Bios Casualty Health Life Pension

Thread: Do I want to be an actuary, or do I quant to be something else?

Actuary.com - Level II Poster

Do I want to be an actuary, or do I quant to be something else?

In spite of the fact that my degree is in mechanical engineering rather than math, stats, or act sci, I love math. In fact, I found out after an interview I had a couple months ago for an entry level actuarial job that part of the reason I didn't get the job was because I sounded too zealous about wanting to do math and that I didn't understand what an actuary actually does, specifically that I came across as thinking an actuary does a lot more math, especially high level math, than one really does. Now, much of my expression of enthusiasm for math during my interview was because I was somewhat self-conscious about not having a traditional degree for an actuary, but I do love doing math---that's no lie. No one has ever asked me to do even the most basic calculus in my mechanical engineering job, and yet I find productive ways to use calculus on a regular basis at my work. My motivation to become an actuary is largely (although not completely) based on a desire to do more high level math, but maybe becoming an actuary will still be disappointing.