Actuarial Openings: Life, P&C, Health, Pensions, Finance
Ezra Penland Actuarial Recruiters
Top Actuary Jobs
Salary Surveys Apply Bios Casualty Health Life Pension

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I am new to MLC: notations?

Actuary.com - Level II Poster

I am new to MLC: notations?

Hi, I am new to MLC and the first thing I noticed is the numerous notations that look rather foreign to me. I am feeling extremly frustrated and I realized that I can't go any further before straightening these things out.

[note: I am using _ to represent subscripts]

1) t_p_x
    Is this a function of x? a function of t? or a function of both? It seems to me that neither of the above makes sense.
    If it's a function of x, why am I seeing formulas for (d/dt) t_p_x?
    If it's a function of t, why am I seeing formulas for (d/dx) t_p_x?
    If it's a function of both x and t, shouldn't (d/dx) t_p_x and (d/dt) t_p_x be partial derivatives?

2) In the formula for deferred mortality probability t|u_q_x, I am seeing the survival function in the form s(x+t+u), is this a function of three variables x,t, and u, i.e. f(x,t,u)=s(x+t+u) for some function f? Or are some of the variables "fixed"?

3) (Force of mortality)
    I am OK with (x), but once again I am confused about something like (x+t).
    Consider the formula (x+t)=s'(x+t)/s(x+t)
    a) I don't understand the meaning of the notation (x+t). Is (x+t) a function of both x and t?
    b) For s'(x+t), is it differentiating with respect to x? to t? to z=x+t?
    c) For s'(x+t), is it a partial derivative?

4) (Force of mortality)
    [note: once again I'm using _ to indicate subscripts]
    One of the formulas says that _X (x+t) = _T(x) (t)
    a) What is the meaning of putting subscripts X and T(x) to the right of ?
    b) What is the difference between (x+t) and _X (x+t)?

Please help me out. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

I would appreciate even if you can answer only one question. Please help...

Actuary.com - Posting Master