Top Actuary Jobs
Salary Surveys Apply Bios Casualty Health Life Pension
Pauline Reimer, ASA, MAAA
Pryor Associates
Actuarial Openings: Life, P&C, Health, Pensions, Finance
Advertise Here
Contact us at actuary@actuary.com or 770-425-8576
Reach top actuarial professionals

Thread: Considering career change from pure math background. Need advice!

Actuary.com - Newbie Poster

Considering career change from pure math background. Need advice!

Hi, I'm new here (obviously) and new to the actuarial profession and was hoping some of you kind people could answer some questions.

I graduated in the spring with a B.S. in mathematics and a physics minor. I was planning on going to graduate school (PhD program) in mathematics and moved to Oregon to do so. For health reasons, I had to withdraw from the university. So now I'm considering my options and trying to figure out what to do with myself. My options appear to be:

1) Reapply to graduate school
    2) Become certified to teach mathematics
    3) Take actuarial exams and become an actuary

I am leaning towards becoming an actuary, but given my background I am unsure about my chances of employment. I have never had classes in probability, statistics, business, or economics. I have had classes in basic calculus (4 semesters), linear algebra (2), discrete math (1), modern algebra (2), advanced calculus (2), and analysis (2), as well as several advanced physics classes. I've had low-level classes in computer science and can do basic programming in Java, C, and C++. I made A's in all these classes, but on the other hand, my degree is from a 4th tier university.

My plan is to take 2 - 3 actuarial exams over the next year while seeking an entry level position. I don't anticipate problems in passing the exam as I am very good at self-study and taking standardized tests. However, I fear the absence of applied math and business courses, along with my lack of experience, will decrease my prospects.

So, my questions: