Actuarial Openings: Life, P&C, Health, Pensions, Finance
Ezra Penland Actuarial Recruiters
Top Actuary Jobs
Salary Surveys Apply Bios Casualty Health Life Pension

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Emergency: July P/1 2010

Actuary.com - Level I Poster

Question Emergency: July P/1 2010

I am new to actuarial and I am going to have my first actuarial exam this month. I carefully go over every sample questions posted by SOA. But still, I feel it not enough because too many people told me that the real exam is actually harder than sample questions. I doubt if it is the truth?? really nervous now.:shocked:

Actuary.com - Level II Poster
    i think that if you can work out the sample problems w/ relative ease then you should be able to pass. on the exam you'll get easy questions that are much easier than any of the sample questions, but you'll also get hard questions that won't look like anything you've ever done. it has been my experience that you mostly get easy to moderately hard questions since the purpose of the exam, imo, is to test that you actually know something, and not to determine whether you're a genius or not.

good luck to you! :smiloe:
    Last edited by Dance!; July 20th 2010 at 04:42 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Dance! View Post
    i think that if you can work out the sample problems w/ relative ease then you should be able to pass. on the exam you'll get easy questions that are much easier than any of the sample questions, but you'll also get hard questions that won't look like anything you've ever done. it has been my experience that you mostly get easy to moderately hard questions since the purpose of the exam, imo, is to test that you actually know something, and not to determine whether you're a genius or not.

good luck to you! :smiloe:
    thanks a lot. i dont know if 143 sample questions cover everything that i need to know to take the exam.:shocked:

Actuary.com - Newbie Poster