Sponsored Ads
Pauline Reimer, ASA, MAAA
Pryor Associates
Actuarial Openings: Life, P&C, Health, Pensions, Finance
Ezra Penland Actuarial Recruiters
Top Actuary Jobs
Salary Surveys Apply Bios Casualty Health Life Pension

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: want to be an actuary, no experience, advice??

Actuary.com - Newbie Poster

Lightbulb want to be an actuary, no experience, advice??

I am a recently graduated college student with a BS in Mathematics, I want to be an actuary and am sitting for exam P in august. I would like to start working in the field (in chicago or surrounding) before then however and was wondering, what are my chances of finding a job with no experience and no exams yet? and if they are slim to none, what if anything should I do until then to better my odds of getting hired after I pass some exams? Should i try to get a job at an insurance company in some unrelated area, for instance answering phones, or anything to get my foot in the door? any advice/job leads(fingers crossed on that one) would be greatly appreciated, thanks a lot.

P.S.
    I have read a few of the other threads on similar subjects, so I know that a lot of information on this topic is out there, but I was hoping that while I try some of the things suggested there I might as well also try and get some advice geared towards me. So please dont read this and regard me as a lazy kid whos clogging up the board with repeat threads, I really would appreciate any genuine advice. Thanks

Actuary.com - Level V Poster djerry81's Avatar
    i was in the same boat you are in.....i don't really think there are many opprotunities for entry level actuaries without exams or internships.....i am with an insurance company answering phones as we write.....taking exams also....my foot is in the door and there is a program here for entry level actuaries that pays pretty well....fingers crossed

Actuary.com - Level I Poster