Actuarial Openings: Life, P&C, Health, Pensions, Finance
Ezra Penland Actuarial Recruiters
Top Actuary Jobs
Salary Surveys Apply Bios Casualty Health Life Pension

Thread: Getting an actuary job with a low GPA

Hybrid View

Actuary.com - Newbie Poster

Getting an actuary job with a low GPA

Ok, so my GPA isn't terrible, but it isn't great either. My cumulative GPA (between running start, which is just community college), and the University of Washington is about 3.03. My UW gpa alone is not quite as good (2.84 currently). My degree is a BS in math, and I am currently taking some very tough classes (basically I am taking 3-4 math classes that are level 300+ for the next year). I am hoping to pass my first actuarial exam in May of 2013, and then I would like to take my 2nd exam in April of 2014, I graduate in June of 2014. I was wondering, assuming I pass the 2 exams and my GPA doesn't change much, will it be tough for me to get a job as an actuary with that? What are some things, besides simply passing more exams, that I could do to increase my chances in the future? Do you think that if I just got a job for an insurance company before passing the 3rd exam, that would increase my chances of getting a job after passing the third exam?