Pryor Associates
Actuarial Openings: Life, P&C, Health, Pensions, Finance
Ezra Penland Actuarial Recruiters
Top Actuary Jobs
Salary Surveys Apply Bios Casualty Health Life Pension

Thread: Work Week

Actuary.com - Level I Poster

Work Week

I've read the messages in these forums for quite some time, but have yet to register. So hi everybody. I'm a college student interested in an actuarial career. I'm majoring in Math under an Actuarial Science concentration. I have one semester left and currently plan to graduate in December. I've passed Exams P and FM. I wanted an internship this summer but came up short. I looked mainly in February/March. I found out that most employers went directly to universities looking for interns. More importantly, they mostly did so the previous semester in the Fall. I decided to get started studying for Exam MLC and look for full-time jobs this summer. I haven't received an offer yet (still a little early) but am quite pleased with the response I've been getting (phone interviews). My concern right now is with the amount of time I'm going to spend working. When I decided on this career, I knew that I would have to spend lots of my own time studying for exams. It's just that at the time I pictured myself working 40 hours a week. From my phone interviews, I'm finding out that I might expect to working substantially more than 40 hours a week. This is particularly much worse among consulting firms. I feel somewhat lazy for asking for a 40 hour work week. However, I feel like passing the first two exams has demonstrated my aptitude and work ethic. I therefore feel like I deserve a fair shot at getting somewhere with these exams. I know that I'll have to stay late occasionally if something important comes up, or I make a mistake and have to do something over again. I know at first I may have to stay late to get trained and learn the ropes. I just don't like the idea of regularly working 10+ hour shifts every day . (The more I work, the more tir