Sponsored Ads
Pauline Reimer, ASA, MAAA
Pryor Associates
Actuarial Openings: Life, P&C, Health, Pensions, Finance
Ezra Penland Actuarial Recruiters
Top Actuary Jobs
Salary Surveys Apply Bios Casualty Health Life Pension

Thread: Looking for a career change..... please help!

Actuary.com - Newbie Poster

Looking for a career change..... please help!

Hello All,

I graduated 3 years ago with a BS in Electrical Engineering and have had a job in consulting engineering for those 3 years. I am looking to make a career change and jump into actuarial work but am not sure how to go about it. I am hoping that I would not have to take a pay cut to get into the business, as I am currently making 65k/yr. but I see a lot of potential for greater earnings as an actuary. Can anyone help give some insight or some direction.........
    Thanks so much!!

Actuary.com - Level I Poster
    Go to D.W. Simpson's website and check out their salary survey. You'll be taking a pay cut most likely, especially if you haven't passed any exams, which it would be hard to even get a job with no exams. Study and take the first exam, if you pass, try to get a job, but expect an initial paycut.

Actuary.com - Level I Poster