Sponsored Ads
Pauline Reimer, ASA, MAAA
Pryor Associates
Actuarial Openings: Life, P&C, Health, Pensions, Finance
Ezra Penland Actuarial Recruiters
Top Actuary Jobs
Salary Surveys Apply Bios Casualty Health Life Pension

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How much of a difference from 2nd exam?

Actuary.com - Level II Poster

How much of a difference from 2nd exam?

I've been having trouble getting interviews, I'm guessing because I passed P August 2006 but have nothing since (failed FM last May, basically just didn't study for it). Well I'm sitting for FM again in a few weeks, and I'm wondering how much of a difference will this make, when I pass it? (I will this time, no doubt). I graduated from Wayne State in December, 3.6 GPA, no actuarial experience but got 2 interviews in the first 2 months, one turned down, the other called me back for a final interview in March, but never heard back since then. So, from that I know my interviewing isn't the greatest, but since then I've applied to TONS of entry-level positions and got nothing.

I'm asking because I'm trying to stay in my general geographical region, but I need to know when to give up and start looking further away. I mean if passing FM should make a big difference then I'd want to stick it out here a little longer.

Or, should I just look for an internship or something, just to get my foot in the door? Or are those usually just for people still in school?

Thanks to all replies.

Actuary.com - Level I Poster

My experience as recent grad...